To put your store in maintenance mode:
Admin > System > Settings
Click [Edit] Next to your store name
Click the Server tab
Scroll down a bit and you'll see the Maintenance mode section. Simply change it to YES and save.
As long as you're signed in as an administrator, you'll see it live. Only those who don't have admin access will see the store's maintenance message.